The Awakening

 Order this item 
  Your order is currently empty.
Image of The Awakening.

Author: Bevan McGuiness
Barcode/ISBN13: 9780732285494
ISBN: 0732285496
Imprint/Brand: Voyager
Release Date: Aug 2007
Format: A Paperback
Series: Triumvirate 01
Number of Pages: 565
Weight: 305 grammes
Price $AUD: $20.99
Categories: Fantasy
Australian Author

The first instalment of a stunning trilogy about power, decay and the hard path to redemption. In a remote coastal outpost of the Asan Empire, Hwenfayre is an outsider, taking pleasure only in her beautiful driftwood harp. The harp has extraordinary powers, and when Hwenfayre tries to use it she finds herself in mortal danger. In the decadent Asan capital, Shanek, the third most important man in the Empire, becomes disturbed by a growing ability to sense the thoughts and feelings of others, while in a quiet village, a young man unleashes forces within himself that compel him to journey into the wider world. But these strange powers will not be allowed to emerge unchecked, especially when Shanek becomes aware that the Empire's ancient enemy is on the rise once more ...

In stock. As of 12 Mar 2021, this item was in stock. However, it is still possible stock gets committed to other customers before you order it. We love orders for in stock items.

Review by Hayden:

The Awakening, Book One of The Triumvirate
Bevan McGuiness

On the outskirts of the Asan Empire a girl, Hwenfayre, grows up in a remote coastal settlement as an outsider. Her only pleasure is a beautiful driftwood harp that was left to her by her father. In playing the harp, she finds that she can control the waters of the ocean. In the Asan capital the son of the first advisor, Shanek, begins to notice things are changing… he has a growing ability to sense the thoughts of other people. Meanwhile, in a small village another young man, Aldere, discovers powers within himself that force him to flee the safety of home into the wild world. Shanek stumbles across information about the ancient enemy of the Asan Empire, who is preparing to rise once more, and ensure these strange powers will not be allowed to rise unchallenged.

The Awakening is the first book of an epic new series from Australian author Bevan McGuiness. It starts of slowly, setting up the world for the viewer, and gathers momentum as the reader is swept along the story. The premise of the story is fairly straight forward – an Empire is being threatened by the rising of their ancient enemy and in response a Triumvirate of individuals begins to manifest strange powers to combat this enemy. However, I found the book to be a very enjoyable read, and a welcome addition to the ranks of Australian fantasy. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series, to see how the events continue to unfold.